PAVILION OF LIGHT BANDSTAND AT FITZGERALD’S PARK ON THE MARDYKE
“The redevelopment of Fitzgerald’s Park has created a state-of-the-art public facility in the heart of the city. The thoughtful re-imagining of the space, driven by the relocation of the bandstand to the front lawn, was integral to the success of the scheme and of reinventing the park. The Pavilion is now a modern landmark, conjuring memories of the grand bandstand of the international exhibition held at the site in 1902. Its success has acted as a catalyst for community engagement and has facilitated a range of events enjoyed by locals and tourists alike. As an icon of collective memory, it forms the heart of a wider community, designed to serve diverse ages and interests. It is a wonderful facility, whose flexibility of use will attract visitors from near and far for years to come as the park evolves and grows.”
Fitzgerald’s Park or, if you prefer, Fitzgerald Park is a public park in Cork city and the location of the Cork Public Museum.The park is located on the Mardyke and is a short distance from Cork city centre and University College Cork.
The park was originally the site of the 1902 Cork International Exhibition, a world’s fair showcasing the city’s economy. After the exhibition the grounds were converted into a public park, with a large pond and fountain as the main focus. The park was named for Edward Fitzgerald, the then incumbent Lord Mayor of Cork and proposer of the Cork International Exhibition.
The park is approximately 12 acres in size and contains a pond, the Cork Public Museum, sculpture trail, bandstand, a café and a large children’s play area. The area of the park is joined to Sunday’s Well across the River Lee by Daly’s bridge (a pedestrian suspension bridge known locally as the “Shakey Bridge”).